Posted by: shorelineclusterpoets | March 5, 2014

Thanks to all for a great meeting

I just wanted to express my thanks to all for a great meeting last night. It was good to see some newcomers and returning writers, and the quality of everyone’s work was very high. I went home inspired, and wrote a sonnet today (pentameter, though not quite iambic… yet). I can’t remember the time I tried to write one, so getting it accomplish felt pretty nice. Thanks for the push! I will share it at our next meeting.

Also, one scheduling note… for next quarter our first Monday meetings will be in the Leete Room at the Community Center.

Responses

  1. And I returned home rather red faced having earlier learned that the sonnet has 14 lines and an ab/ab/ etc., rhyme scheme.  But that I didn’t know each sonnet line was restricted to 10 syllables was not good.  I have redone the poem and it is now three parts right. Now for the meters, etc. 

    I think it’s wonderful that the conversations go in differing directions based on poem contents. Nicely run group.

    Lynn Davis

  2. You guys shamed me into (maybe) writing something serious next time; it was fun anyway; nice to hear new voices.

  3. Great fun,very entertaining!


Leave a Reply

Categories

