Posted by: shorelineclusterpoets | February 28, 2013

The passing of a poet

I read in the newspaper today about the passing of Bob Isaacs. He was one of the first members of the Shoreline Cluster Poets more than a decade ago. He was one of my favorite writers, and always had beautifully crafted words to share. He was also a scholar and teacher, adding much to our discussions. I know he helped many poets improve their work, including me, and if it wasn’t for his presence in the group in that beginning incarnation, I do not think we would still be meeting today.

I am a better person and writer for having known Bob.

Responses

  1. I saw it too, Rudy, and immediately thought of you and “the group.” Bob was such a wonderful character. His passing is so sad.

  2. Rudy, I read this obituary today and was both saddened and surprised. He’ll be missed, and from a personal standpoint, his feedback at our group meetings helped me improve my writing.

  3. I remember Bob. He was generous with his attention to and appreciation of our work, which made his criticism most useful and constructive. He was a fine and enthusiastic poet and a knowledgeable and wise man.

  4. Very sorry to hear that, may he rest in peace. My condolences to his family and friends. Regards Lori

    ________________________________

  5. Strange thing, I was thinking of Bob this morning; (not knowing he was no longer with us,) and how I often come back to his saying that “once it’s on paper, it’s fiction.” What a great man.

  6. Just found out from Judy that Bob passed away. He was a gifted poet, to be sure. I agree with Rudy…the group would most likely not have lasted without Bob’s influence. He was always ready to help any one of us if we asked; I know he made me feel confident about my poetry. It was always fun when he bought his dog (whose name escapes me now),,,,to our meetings, R.I.P. Bob


Leave a Reply

Categories

