Posted by: shorelineclusterpoets | March 7, 2012

Songs & Poems Inspired by last night’s meeting

A number of interesting parallels were made during last night’s meeting, some of which compared poems shared to other works already in the world.  Don found the song he mentioned (see bel0w)  that came into his mind when John read his poem, and Don also found the piece by Tagore that he thought of after Dick read (again see below).  Pretty cool stuff….

Lucky
from They’re Everywhere! By Jim’s Big Ego

I’m lucky (repeat 8 times)

I’m lucky you left me,
I think I’m better off this way.
I’m lucky you left me
,
although I wanted you to stay.
I’m lucky you left me
,
I don’t cry a lot at night.
I’m lucky you left me
,
don’t worry darling,
I’m alright
!

When first you went away
I thought my days and nights were forever gonna SUCK
But now with just a little time I can see my future brightening up
Cause the truth is:

I’m lucky (repeat 8 times)

I’m lucky you left me,
I know I’ll never be the same
.
I’m lucky you left me
,
I feel a little sorry for what’s his name.
I’m lucky you left me
,
Because hey, you really were a Bitch!
I’m lucky you left me
,
and I no longer want to scratch
 that itch
.

Now here’s the part of the song
where you’d expect to find a little IRONY,
about how I’d really much rather have you back… SORRY
Cause the truth is:

I’m lucky (repeat 8 times)
I’m lucky you left me
,
unfaithful and untrue.
I’m lucky you left me
,
every day I forget a little more about you.
I’m lucky you left me
,
I think I’m better off alone
.
I’m lucky you left me
,
darling please!
DON’T COME HOME !
DON’T COME HOME
 !
DON’T COME HOME
 !
DON’T COME HOME
 !
don’t come home.
(cc) some rights reserved 2003 Jim Infantino

 

Friend

from Gitanjali by R. Tagore
Art thou abroad on this stormy night
on thy journey of love, my friend?
The sky groans like one in despair.
I have no sleep tonight.
Ever and again I open my door and look out on
the darkness, my friend!
I can see nothing before me.
I wonder where lies thy path!
By what dim shore of the ink-black river,
by what far edge of the frowning forest,
through what mazy depth of gloom art thou threading
thy course to come to me, my friend?
Responses

  1. And when he mentioned Tagore in response to my poem, he brought to mind this:

    The Gardener LXI: Peace, My Heart
    By Rabindranath Tagore

    Let it not be a death but completeness.
    Let love melt into memory
    and pain into songs.
    Let the flight through the sky
    end in the folding of wings over the nest.
    Let the last touch of your hands be gentle
    like the flower of the night.
    Stand still, a Beautiful End,
    and say your last words in silence.
    I bow to you
    and hold up my lamp
    to light you on your way

  2. Great stuff, Don; good detective work, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

