Posted by: shorelineclusterpoets | June 17, 2010

Suggested Theme Thursday: word play (homophones)

Today’s suggestion is about word play. Specifically, let’s considering using homophones. A quick elementary school reminder tells us that homophones are two words that sound the same, but are spelled differently and have different meanings.

Here’s a nice site that gives a list of them  (link).  Try creating a piece that uses some of these. I notice they left off  “profit” and “prophet,” which are the two words that made me think of homophones in the first place. Consider using these two words as the theme of your piece, if you cannot find some others that get you thinking.

Responses

  1. Hi! I’m just curious if you ever submitted your work to Third Wednesday? I remember you making a post that you had plans to. Just curious.

    Thanks!

    Eryk

    • I believe I did… I think they said “no thanks.”

      🙂

      • Gosh, do I hate reading those words!! Quite a few these days. 😦

  2. This sounds fun, Rudy. Thanks. Looking forward to trying it.
    Next time I will bring the sestina I’ve been working on, the challenge was to think of different meanings for the SAME six words (not spelled differently) that end the sextets, six times. Not all of he words ended up with that many meanings, but some had different shades of meaning. It was a fun challenge.
    Looking forward to seeing the group soon
    Gemma

    ps eecummings poem heart breaking and very well done.

  3. I just posted some made up homophones: http://daisybrain.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/word-playtocracy/

  4. You also just reminded me that about 20 years ago, I recorded a rap song called, “A Prophet Doesn’t Profit from his Prophesy,” about corrupt tele-evangelists.


Leave a Reply

Categories

