Posted by: shorelineclusterpoets | January 25, 2010

4 out of 13 in 2009… (submission suggestion)

In the mail today, I got my final published piece, in a chapbook called Chopper Journal, created here in New London, CT.  They ended their fall 2009 issue with my poem “Free at last,” something I wrote after I quit my job at the newspaper and escaped from that toxic environment.

In 2009, I submitted entries to 13 different venues, lit mags, contests, etc. I had 4 acceptances. This year, I’d like to double my entries to 24 for the year and perhaps this will net 8 acceptances, though I know there is no rhyme or reason to it (much like most of my poetry).

So, here’s a place you may want to look into submitting your work…I like this one because it is a pub borne of a writers’ group that meets in Michigan in a book store.  Here’s a link to their submission page… http://thirdwednesday.org/submissions.php.  No fees to submit and email is okay. And they may even pay you a small bill for your work.  Can’t beat that. Now, I’ve not yet sent anything to them, but they are on the top of my list.  Give them a look. What do you have to lose?

Leave a Reply

Categories

